30 Days: Day 11: Pet Peeves

Describe 10 pet peeves you have.

Of course when I’m asked this question all of my thoughts of what truly annoys me go out the window. That’s like when someone asks you a question and you had a bunch of great answers before, but they never seem to come to you when answering. These are going to be 10 things off of the top of my head, not necessarily in the order I despise them. And I’ll probably not mention some because I can’t remember them.

1. Talking like you’re better than everyone else. I guess really it just comes down to having an arrogant “I’m better than you” attitude. It bothers me. A lot.

2. Bent pages in a book. I have gotten better about how uptight I am with the upkeep of my books. If they look a little loved I don’t have a heart attack anymore. But I’ll never be able to accept bent pages in a book. Having no bookmark with you is not an excuse. It’s called scrap paper. Or memorizing the page number. Just don’t bend the pages of the book!

3. Reading the last page/spoilers. If I ask for them fine, but don’t tell me the ending to something otherwise! I hate knowing the endings before they come. I enjoy trying to guess it myself and I enjoy the journey to the ending. If I know the ending I sometimes get the attitude of “why bother.” And I hate when people talk about spoilers in front of me with no warning, knowing that I haven’t seen/read what they’re talking about. Oh, and the people who read the last page or so of the book and tell me about it.

4. A messy toothpaste bottle. I don’t know why this bothers me, but it does. I like my toothpaste to look clean and not like Mt. Vesuvius erupted.

5. When people take my things and don’t treat them well. Maybe it’s the OCD in me, but I really like to take care of my things (books, electronics, school supplies, etc.). I like things to look slightly used, not like they competed in a truck demolition competition.

6. People seriously judging me. I shouldn’t care what people think about me, but I do sometimes. It’s hard for me not to. I judge people, I know, but I try my hardest to be understanding and see it from their side. I guess what I really hate is people judging me and then treating me differently because of this judgement.

7. People underestimating me/disrespecting me. Two kind of different things, but I’m lumping them as one. I can do things, okay? I’m capable of accomplishments and failures. As a joke or challenge, fine, bring it on. But when you truly believe I can’t do something it bothers me and makes me only want to prove you wrong (and getting injured in the process). Also, disrespect. You have your opinions and I have mine and that’s all fine and dandy. I respect what you believe in and I kind of expect the same. Difference are good, right? Just don’t disrespect me because I’m not you or I don’t fit this image that you have in your mind.

8. Utah/crazy/tourist drivers. They make me question how they got their licensees in the first place. I mean they make you take driver’s ed in Utah and yet they are still crazy drivers! They’re almost as bad as tourist drivers. Almost.

9. Extremist. There are two sides to a coin. Always. Just keep that in mind before you go crazy with one side of a view.

10. Overly attentive sales clerks. When I shop I like to organize my thoughts and think about things. It bothers me when they ask me if I need anything right when I walk into a store. No, I do not need anything. If I did I would come and get you. Leave me to my thoughts please. (Of course I’m nice to them and say “no” in as pleasant of a voice as I can muster)

I know I only need 10, but my dad just reminded me of this last one.

11. Sandals with socks. I’m not talking about the sports sandal/flip-flop things that allow you to wear your socks when you change out of your running shoes. I wear those a lot when I’m wearing socks and I need to quickly run errands or I’m in my comfort mode. I’m talking about people who wear those Velcro strap sandals and have white ankle socks on. The whole point of wearing sandals is to let your feet breathe and to keep them cooler. You can’t do that with socks on! Tourists do it all of the time. Either wear sneakers or take off the socks. You can’t have your cake and eat it too, despite what you think. (This goes for socks with crocs as well. Crocs are just awful to begin with. Add socks and you might as well be wearing clown shoes around town.)

Leave a Reply

