30 Days: Day 9: Inspirations

List 10 people who have influenced you and describe how.

What a hard question! I suppose it’s not really a question, but still. I can never just pick ten. There are so many people who have influenced me in my life. Basically, if I’ve known you or met you, you’ve influenced me. So thanks for that. But I need to write this post so I’m going to name a few of the many wonderful people in my life. These are in no particular order. (You’re going to have to excuse the sap, it’s just going to happen.)

1. My mom

Of course my mom has influenced me! She did birth me. But that’s not all. She’s given me more than I could have ever asked for. She is such a symbol of strength to me. And she loves and supports me through all my craziness. (I could write more, but the words are kind of hard to find. It’s hard to explain why the people who are closest to you are so precious.)

2. My dad

Along with my mom, my dad has also been a big influence to me. He’s been with me every step of the way and has supported me in the things I’ve wanted to do, even if he doesn’t always agree with them. I know I can always turn to him for support no matter what.

3. My sister

(Yes, I could have grouped my family into one, but I didn’t want to.) She might be younger than me, but she still inspires me to be a better person. She looks up to me, which makes me want to be a better person so she can have a good example. I often fall short of this, but she is always willing to forgive me and gives me so much “lovings” (whether I want the “lovings” or not).

4. Sara Rose

This was my Young Women’s President who was with me for the longest time. Every time I talked to her she just made me feel the sunshine bubbling inside me. Her family is adorable and the love she has for her kids and her husband is such an inspiration. She was a wonderful example of what I want my family to be like when I get older. She also helped me make crucial decisions in my life at a young age that have kept me going.

5. Lori Rucker

Another leader who was in my life a lot during my Young Women’s years. Her positivity in rough situations was outstanding. She believed in me so much that it made me believe more in my self. She has helped me grow into the person I am today by giving me love and believing in all I can do.

6. My family

My family isn’t the biggest on the planet, but we are one of the closest. I’ve been blessed with being able to grow up near most of my extended family on my mom’s side. We always spend holidays and birthdays together. They’ve been there for me for every dance performance, band concert, choir concert, orchestra concert, awards ceremony, and so much more. I don’t know where I’d be without my family. I was truly lucky to be able to grow up with them constantly in my life.

7. Disney

I understand that Disney is a corporation and whatnot, but still. I grew up with Disney in my life as well. The idea that you can have magic in your life and happily ever afters is endearing. I don’t think it’s a bad message that they are sending to children. Believe in your dreams and dream big. That’s what Disney has taught me. That’s pretty inspirational if I do say so myself.

8. My friends

I have so many that I simply can’t name them all. I’m so grateful for the wonderful people I have in my life who have let me in and have given me the gift of friendship. They bring me happiness and joy and make me a better person. All you need is love, right?

9. My abuela

If I could describe my abuela in word word it would be “strength.” The things that she has done and has accomplished is astounding. She has taught me that when the going gets tough, the tough get going. She has been through so much and yet she keeps faith and hope and keeps going. What a great example to me of enduring to the end.

10. Jesus Christ

I don’t even know how to put how much of an inspiration He is to me. Love one another, endure to the end, weaknesses into strengths. He is the Master Teacher and He has taught me so much. I turn to Him everyday for strength and inspiration and I’m so grateful for the life He gave for me so that I may have an opportunity to live, laugh, love, and grow on this earth.

 

I’ll have to say that this is one of the harder days to write about. It’s so hard to make a list of people and then attempt to put into words how they’ve influenced my life. In writing this I’ve realized how truly blessed and lucky I am to have so many wonderful inspirations in my life.

Leave a Reply

