“Becoming is Better Than Being”

Before I get to the meat of my post let me first say that bugs are taking over my house. I’ve found like four today and they’re are probably more. I think the ones we’re finding now are the children coming with vengeance. It’s horrifying. I don’t do bugs. No way. Not a chance. They are creepy and crawly and they crunch when you kill them. I like to ignore their existence. If I don’t see them or have to deal with them we can live in perfect harmony.

Moving on. I just want to take a little bit of time to talk about something I’ve learned at work. Maybe you’ll learn from it too. I don’t know. Maybe there can be a mutual benefit from this. I’m going to take a little time to share my two cents on mindsets. I’m super fascinated with the mind and its capabilities. The mind is such a powerful tool; it’s one of the things that separates us from different critters in the animal kingdom. For work I’ve had to do some summer training. During the first week of training we did some readings on a growth mindset. Here’s a little background info:

There are two types of mindsets, a fixed mindset and a growth mindset. There are many components that compromise both. In short a fixed mindset is short sited. This mindset expects immediate gratification and believes that mistakes in life are signs of weakness. A growth mindset is one that accepts challenge and sees it as an opportunity to grow. Mistakes are things to learn from and they show what areas yous can grow in. There are a lot of differences between the two mindsets and the more I read about them the more I realized that I’m stuck in a fixed mindset. The wonderful thing about the mind though is that it can always change and develop. If we find ourselves somewhere we don’t want we can fix it.

So here’s what I’ve learned and what I want to change. I’m working toward going to a complete growth mindset. It’s going to be a challenge, but that’s kind of exciting. One big thing is that I have to learn to be a learner. Yeah, confusing. I have to learn to learn. I’m guilty of getting frustrated when I don’t understand something right away. I think that it’s too hard and that I can’t do it. I accept it as a weakness and don’t do anything to change it. But really, where am I getting with that? The answer is nowhere.

I’m trying my hardest to see everything as a challenge I can gain and grow from. I don’t want to be this person who’s stuck in one spot because they don’t want to face failure and challenges. If failure is going to get me places, bring it on. I anticipate a lot of failure. Mainly because I’m going to try a lot of things. Yeah, I’m excited.

Another thing, one test doesn’t determine your abilities. If you fail that’s okay. That’s something I have to learn. As long as we grow from it it’s all good. And that one test may not have been the best way to display your abilities. Abilities can grow. Always.

Today we talked about all of the learning we get to do in this life. The learning never stops. We will be learning for the rest of our existence. Never shall we be stagnant. Even though I want to know it all, I like knowing that I’ll always have more to learn and more to grow. Being home I’ve learned that I love being with my family, but I don’t like feeling like I’m not going anywhere. I’m excited to get back to work and school and start more learning and growing (I may not say that in the moment of exams, but who would?).

“I don’t divide the world into the weak and the strong, or the successes and the failures…I divide the world into the learners and nonlearners.” Benjamin Barber

Leave a Reply

