The Sacrament

Intro Post

Each Sunday I am given an opportunity to partake of the Sacrament and renew my covenants with my Heavenly Father. Through the symbolic bread and water every Sunday I remember the sacrificial that Christ went through in order for me to be able to return to my Heavenly Father. There are two different prayers said, one to bless the bread and the other to bless the water. Although these prayers are similar, there are some differences in what we promise to do and what God promises us he’ll do.

“O God, the Eternal Father, we ask thee in the name of they son, Jesus Christ, to bless and sanctify this bread to the souls of all those who partake of it; that they may eat in remembrance of the body of they Son, and witness unto thee, O God the Eternal Father, that they are willing to take upon them the name of thy Son, and always remember him, and keep his commandments which he hath given them, that they may always have his Spirit to be with them. Amen.” Moroni 4:3 (Book of Mormon)

“O God, the Eternal Father, we ask thee, in the name of they Son, Jesus Christ, to bless and sanctify this wine to the souls of all those who drink of it, that they may do it in remembrance of the blood of they Son, which was shed for them; that they may witness unto thee, O God, the Eternal Father, that they do always remember him, that they may have his Spirit to be with them. Amen.” Moroni 5:2 (Book of Mormon)

For the bread we say that we are willing to take upon us Christ’s name and keep the commandments. When we do these things we are able to have Heavenly Father and Christ’s constant companionship.

The water represents the blood that was shed for us. In this prayer we promise to always remember Christ and in return we can have His Spirit with us when we need it.

I’m so grateful for the chance I get each Sunday to renew these covenants with God. The Sacrament gives me time to reflect on my week and notice the things in my life that need improvement. It’s a time I have to think of the things I’ve done wrong and repent for them, to make a promise to Heavenly Father that I will try my best to be better that week. Each time I partake of the Sacrament I feel renewed and ready to improve my life a little more. Through my difficult, trying times the Sacrament is a reminder to me that I will make mistakes, but I can always be forgiven of them if I come to my Heavenly Father and allow myself to be perfected through Him and Christ.

This is just my insight. If you want to find out more about Latter-day Saints and what we believe please visit mormon.org or lds.org.

Leave a Reply

