Stretching Ourselves

Intro Post

We’re on Earth as a part of a test. During this little test we’re expected to grow and to progress. We’re trying to become more like our Heavenly Father, which can seem like a daunting task. But with faith in our Heavenly Father and the help of Jesus Christ it’s possible. We have to let the Lord stretch us, to challenge us beyond where we think we can go. The Lord knows what we can handle and he’ll never give us more than we can bare. While we’re being stretched the Lord holds our hand and is always there for us. The Lord is with us always. He finds us where we are and stretches us from there. From this we can grow closer to our full potential and will become more like God.

In the Book of Mormon the brother of Jared, Mahonri, talked to the Lord and asked Him to deliver him and his people out of the wicked land. The Lord said he had a land waiting for them, but they’d first have to get there. With the help of the Lord Mahonri constructed boats to take them to this new land. One of the problems he was confronted with was the problem of light. These boats had no windows in them because the sea would break those windows on their voyage. Mahonri had to figure out a way to bring light to the boats. The Lord asked him to come up with a solution to the problem. He was stretching Mahonri, helping him to reach his fuller potential.

“Behold, O Lord, thou hast smitten us because of our iniquity, and hast driven us forth, and for these many years we have been in the wilderness; nevertheless, thou hast been merciful unto us. O Lord, look upon me in pity, and turn away thine anger from this thy people, and suffer not that they shall go forth across this raging deep in darkness; but behold these things which I have molten out of the rock.” Ether 3:3 (Book of Mormon)”

There are many times in my life where I can recall the Lord stretching me, pushing me more toward my potential. Coming to college has definitely stretched me in ways I didn’t expect, socially, spiritually, and academically. I’ve grown up going to school with the same kids from middle school through high school. Each year I already had my friends so making new ones was easier. Coming out to college I moved to a state I’ve never been before, lived on my own for the first time, and done things with family being nowhere close by. It was hard to have to be here on my own and to depend on myself, even though I had my parents support. I’m not the best at making friends, but in the end I was able to do it with the Lord’s help.

When the Lord stretches us we can accomplish great things if we put our faith in Him and allow ourselves to grow into all that we can become.

This is just my insight. If you want to find out more about Latter-day Saints and what we believe please visit mormon.org or lds.org.

Leave a Reply

