Two Legs

Intro Post

Two legs are what keep us going while we walk. Let’s say one leg is action and one is revelation. We need both to keep us going. We are in control of the leg of action and our Heavenly Father helps us with the leg of revelation. He will never stretch us past our limits, instead he pushes us to grow little by little to get closer to our full potential. Sometimes we receive answers from our Heavenly Father that guide our actions and other times he lets us choose the action first before giving us the answer. No matter what, He will always be with us to walk the journey of life.

For all of my decisions I depend on the Lord to help me. There are times I find that I am frustrated because I don’t receive an answer from Heavenly Father right away. Instead, he wants me to make a decision for myself before guiding me. This has happened recently in my life. The news of the lowering of the missionary age has definitely shaken things up for me. This plan I had for my life suddenly changed. I didn’t know what I was supposed to do anymore, whether I would go on a mission, if I’d wait until I was 21, or if I would just continue going to school. Missions are not an obligation for the sisters of the church as they are for the brothers, so it makes the choice a little more difficult. I didn’t want to choose the wrong path for my life and I couldn’t tell whether the decisions I was coming to were based on outside influence or were the decisions I needed to be making. I was super excited to be given the chance to serve the Lord at a younger age and I wanted to leave as soon as possible. I wanted to go during the summer or come August. The more I thought about it though the less right it felt. I prayed to my Heavenly Father every day asking over and over again if what I was choosing was right. I wasn’t receiving any answers and I started to get angry. This was an important decision and I needed my Heavenly Father’s help with it. Finally, I decided that I would do the same thing I did the year before when I prayed about what semester I would go to BYU. I would make my decision and go through with it. I took this to my Heavenly Father in prayer and told Him that this was the choice I picked and that if it were wrong he needed to let me know. My decision was to not go on a mission and to return to the school in the fall. Things got better after that decision. I felt proud of myself for finally choosing and ready to move on with my life. This was around November. Fast forward to the end of January. It was time to start looking at housing for the 2013-2014 school year. I was excited because I would be rooming with one of the best friends I’ve made out here. We looked at tons of apartments, spent hours browsing through catalogs, and even more hours looking at reviews. The more places we looked at the more I was confused. None of these places felt right. I couldn’t see myself living in any of them. I blamed it on my allergies, saying they didn’t feel right because I thought there was mold in it. My friend had the same feeling, none of these places were right. But we had to live somewhere and we had a top choice. The problem was that space was very limited there and in order to get a room we needed to go to a raffle drawing they have. We found out on a Friday that the raffle was the next day. We decided that it just didn’t feel right and that we should wait a little longer. I’m so glad we did. The events of that weekend were the answer to my prayers. Through various events my Heavenly Father showed me a path that I had never thought of before. My entire future changed in that weekend. I decided that I would stay for a spring and fall semester then go on my mission in January. I know Satan was working hard to make me doubt this personal revelation by making things not work out, but in the end I found a way to make my plan a possibility.

“And it came to pass that they did travel in the wilderness, and did build barges, in which they did cross many waters, being directed continually by the hand of the Lord.” Ether 2:6 (Book of Mormon)

I had to take the first step and put an action in plan before my Heavenly Father guided me. The guiding happened on His time and not my own. The Lord knows what’s best for us, we need to trust in Him whether it means listening to His council first or choosing ourselves and having faith.

This is just my insight. If you want to find out more about Latter-day Saints and what we believe please visit mormon.org or lds.org.

Leave a Reply

