Let Go and Live

Intro Post

We all aren’t perfect. We make mistakes and we mess up. When we do this we can turn to repentance to be forgiven. After we’ve been forgiven we need to let go. We can’t just hold on to that past wrong. If we hold on to it how can we expect Heavenly Father to forgive us of it. Along with forgiving ourselves we need to forgive others, because they are human too and they make mistakes. Grudges are not healthy to hold. They keep our hearts darker than they need to be and they hold us back from enjoying our lives.

I’m a very stubborn person and I tend to hold grudges. Our world sees revenge as something we need to do when someone wrongs us. We need to “get even” and make sure that this person “feels our pain.” But this is not what Christ has taught us to do. He showed us the ultimate example of forgiveness. Aside for forgiving people for mocking Him and not believing in His words He forgave the people for taking His life. No matter what the wrong done to us is we need to forgive and forget. It can be a hard thing to do, but if we are able to just let go of our grudge we can better enjoy our lives. I’ve been mistreated before. In fact, when I was younger I had this really good friend who I’d do everything with. One summer we grew apart and I felt betrayed by the things she would do and say to me. I harbored that grudge during high school, something that really prevented me from seeing the best in this person and fully enjoying my life. I felt like she was every where in my life and that I couldn’t be somewhere where she wasn’t. I regret not letting go of my grudge sooner. It took me until the end of my senior year in high school. I still harbor some tension with this friend, but ever since I’ve chosen to let go I’ve felt so much better about myself. I don’t need to hold grudges, it’s not my place. I must forgive the person and move on in my life, which allows them to move on too. If we wrong someone we would want this courtesy extended to us.

In the Book of Mormon, Mormon lives in a dark time where everyone is at war with one another, seeking revenge. Even though he knows that the Lamanites have killed many people and are about to kill him, he doesn’t hold a grudge against them. Chapter seven in Mormon is Mormon inviting the Lamanites to believe in Christ. He shows them how they can be saved, not choosing to withhold this knowledge because of any grudge.

“For behold, this is written for the intent that ye may believe that; and if ye believe that ye will believe this also; and if ye believe this ye will know concerning your fathers, and also the marvelous works which were wrought by the power of God among them” Mormon 7:9 (Book of Mormon)

If Christ and Mormon could refrain from holding grudges then so can we. You’ll find that when you let a grudge go a weight will be lifted off of you and you’ll be able to see more good in your life. You’ll also be able to better recognize the blessings you’ve been given. Dwelling in the past isn’t something we should do. Instead we should push through to the future and endure to the end.

This is just my insight. If you want to find out more about Latter-day Saints and what we believe please visit mormon.org or lds.org.

Leave a Reply

