Instrument in the Lord’s Hands

Intro Post

I strive to be someone that the Lord can communicate the Gospel through. I want to be a person He can depend on to share the gospel with others and show them the mercy and love of Christ’s Atonement. In order to do that I have to put His will before my own, which can be hard. We live in a world where we do what’s best for us, where the focus is me, me, me. To set that aside is going against the natural man. Not only do we have to put His will before our own, but we also have to allow ourselves to be put in the fiery furnace of affliction.

The trials in our lives shape us into who we are. Think about a recent trial you’ve been through. It may have been hard and many times you may have asked “why me,” but because of this trial you are a different person. We learn from our experiences, whether good or bad. When we give ourselves to the Lord to become instruments in His hand there has to be some work done on us. The state we are in now is not our full potential to be the best tool possible. We have to put our faith in the Lord and hold on to Him through the trials we are given so that we may be shaped. Our hard trials are the hottest moments in the furnace or when we are being hammered by the hand of our Heavenly Father. There is pain and sometimes we feel like we can’t take it anymore, but if we just endure to the end we can become all that the Lord has in store for us.

All of us go through many trying times, I’m no exception. We can never see why we have to go through the trial during the trial, the moment of realization usually comes after we’ve been through it. When I was around fourteen there was a trial I was faced with where I began to question some of my standards and why the church felt it was important for me to live some of them. I began to fall away from the church and question everything I was taught. Things began to go wrong in my life, the people in my family that I was close to began to have serious medical issues that I thought they would never be able to make it through. Things were falling apart and I felt lost. I then realized that my problem was that I wasn’t living the life my Heavenly Father wanted me to. He had so much planned for me and I wasn’t letting Him shape me into my potential. Even though I didn’t commit any sins I did fall away from the gospel of Christ and I did have to repent. That process was spiritually one of the hardest things I went through. But I enured to the end and came out of my trial a better person. Looking back I can begin to see what the Lord was doing. My standards and faith were being tested, and although I did falter a little bit I was able to come back to the Lord with a strong testimony on the standards of the Church and God’s commandments. I knew then how important it was to follow them and how blessed my life would be if I did.

“…They did go forth upon the face of the land, and did minister unto all the people, uniting as many to the church as would believe in their preaching; baptizing them, and as many as were baptized did receive the Holy Ghost.” 3 Nephi 28:18 (Book of Mormon)

Being in the fiery furnace is not easy. Many times we get discouraged and think we can’t handle it. But we need to put our faith in the Lord. He knows what He’s doing and what we can become. He will never give us more than we can bare. If we let Him shape us we’ll be able to become so much more than we can even begin to imagine.

This is just my insight. If you want to find out more about Latter-day Saints and what we believe please visit mormon.org or lds.org.

Leave a Reply

