Keeping the Commandments

Intro Post
I find that I’m constantly asking myself “why me” or “what’s the point” or “what am I supposed to do?” In life, we don’t know what’s going to happen. We don’t know all of the details of our lives, like who we’ll meet or where we’ll be in ten years. The only one who knows the details of life and what will happen to us is God. He sees the bigger picture and he knows why we go through certain trials in life. That being said He knows what we need and when we need it. He has asked us to follow His commandments because He knows that those commandments will be beneficial to us and that we need them in our lives. God doesn’t give commandments for His benefit, but for ours. Whenever He commands something it is for us to learn and to grow. Sometimes we aren’t given all of the reasons why, we just need to have faith in Him and trust that what He commands us to do will help us gain perspective and will lead us closer to Him.
Things are done in God’s timing, not ours. That’s something that I’ve always struggled with. Sometimes I want to plan my life and stick with that plan no matter what. It’s hard for me to give control to The Lord and let Him guide me. Last January I was offered the position to be a leader at my church’s girls’ camp which took place in the summer. The problem was that I was thinking of going to BYU during the summer semester so I could ease myself into college life and living on my own. I didn’t know what to do, so I prayed to my Heavenly Father. I made a decision and went to Him with what I decided. I put His will before my own and things worked out amazingly. I decided to take the position as a leader at my church’s girls’ camp and start school in the fall.

“And I give unto you a commandment that ye shall do these things. And if ye shall always do these things blessed are ye, for ye are built upon my rock.” 3 Nephi 18:12 (Book of Mormon)

May we keep God’s commandments and build our foundation on Him. He sees the whole picture and has our best interest in mind, always.

This is just my insight. If you want to find out more about Latter-day Saints and what we believe please visit mormon.org or lds.org.

Leave a Reply

