Missionary Week: Day 2

It was a lot harder to get up today. It could be due to the fact that the night before I didn’t sleep very well and last night it took me a while to finally fall asleep. I’m not use to this whole 10:30 bed time thing. I’m definitely a night owl, I thrive in the insane hours of the night (or morning, depending on how you look at it). I seem to get all of my ideas for things then and seem to do the most work then. The work thing may be related to procrastinating, but I’d like to think it’s not (plus I’m getting A LOT better at not procrastinating than I use to be). It’s also hard to get myself going in the morning when I don’t have a class at 8 AM. My body is like “why on earth did you get up three hours sooner than you have to?” Then there was the whole it being cold this morning, and that gave me more reason to snuggle up in my blanket full of static electricity and pass out for 30 minutes on my bed. I’m not necessarily proud I fell asleep, but it happened. Life goes on. I’d like to think that missionaries take naps sometimes too.

But after that nap I felt pretty energized for the rest of the day. I think I was also really tired because I didn’t have class until 10, so I really didn’t have anything to do other than study (which can put a person to sleep real fast). The highlights of the day were eating lunch at the MOA Cafe with Kelsey and Elizabeth and the introduction to missionary week. At the MOA I enjoyed a yummy salad and sandwich and had a delightful piece of pumpkin swirl cheesecake. I’m thankful they have pumpkin swirl cheesecake at the MOA. That cheesecake is what I look forward to every fall. Also, pumpkin spice doughnuts from Krispy Kreme. Thanks to Kelsey I now have an addiction to these doughnuts and it’s my new mission in life to get them to open back up the Krispy Kreme by my house so everyone can enjoy this happiness that is a pumpkin spice doughnut.

At the introduction to missionary work we had the 1st counselor of the stake speak to us about missionary work, then we split up into our missions. For the Texas Houston mission we had a total of three show up. But that’s okay, we were a rocking three. We got the chance to work on some mission goals, personal goals, and to talk about what we want to gain out of missionary week. It was a great way to end the day (I’m going to ignore the fact that I did homework after and just pretend I went to bed).

Did I mention how cold it is out here? Because it is. I’m definitely not use to the constant cold. As for snow, I think Disney does a nice job recreating it with fluff. That’s what it looks like on the ground. Sparkly fluff. Until you touch it. Then, not so much. Instead of being soft and pleasant it’s soft and chills you to the bone (which I’ve found to be very painful). Just thought I’d let you know.

Leave a Reply

