Missionary Week: Day 1

Dear Sister Owens,

You are herby called to serve as a missionary-in-training. You are assigned to labor in the Texas Houston. It is anticipated that you will serve for a period of five days: Monday, November 12th through Friday, November 16th, 2012.

(Let me take a moment to emphasis the fakeness of this mission. It’s not real. Fake, make-believe, pretend, imaginary. I’m not 19 yet and I won’t be for another six months. Now that that’s established…)

So that’s the letter I got in the mail. This week is missionary week at BYU! People were given “mission calls” and were challenged to live like a missionary for a week. What does that mean? Well, it really means whatever you want it to. You get to decide how much of it you want to participate in. My roommate Katelyn and I decided we were going to try our best to live by all of the standards of a missionary that we possibly can. We’re going to bed at 10:30, getting up at 6:30, only listening to church music, dressing as a missionary would, and doing “companion” prayer and scripture study. I think it’s a great way to focus ourselves on the gospel and the things that are truly important in life. It’s also nice to know I won’t be wasting any time on facebook for another week (last week I limited myself to five minutes of facebook time per day because I had so much to do). I feel like I have more time to get things done. I just hope I can keep myself focused on my work. It’s also nice that a lot of girls in my hall are deciding to participate. It only makes me love my hall even more.

I’m going to take a little time to talk about my hall. 3200 Stover Hall. I feel like I was inspired to pick this hall. I know, it sounds kind of crazy. But really, these girls are amazing and exactly what I need. They kind of create my home away from home. Being away from the family and place I’ve been with for 18 years is kind of hard. Things are definitely different in college. The girls in my hall help ease that pain. They are all sincere, beautiful, kind, and they have such a strong light. I love how we’re all super different, some from Brazil others from Mexico, some nonmembers and converts and others who have been members for life. We’re all different, with different personalities and talents and yet we all get along and love each other. We’re each other’s families out here. They are all such a great support group for me. And we have a wonderful RA, Annie, who is such an adorable person! Seriously. I can’t get over how cute she is and how friendly. I couldn’t have asked for a better RA or group of girls to live with.

This week I’ve not only decided to participate in the missionary experience, but also to block out my days in 8 hour blocks. 8 hours of sleep, 8 hours of school work, and 8 hours of recreation. So far it’s worked out, but that may because I have 6 hours of classes so I only needed to study 2 hours. Tomorrow is a different story. Only 3 hours of classes, which means 5 hours of studying. We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

