30 Days: Day 7: Dream Job

What is your dream job, and why?

This isn’t a hard one for me. Well, not anymore. When I was little I aspired to be a veterinarian, an artist, an animal trainer, a marine biologist, a photographer, a teacher, and probably various other things. One thing that I’ve learned about myself is I love to do new things, so naturally I found what job I thought I wanted constantly changing. Then there was a period in my life, though brief, that I had no idea what I was going to do. I was around thirteen when this happened. Realistically, you don’t need to have made up your mind about your dream job at this age. But everyone had an idea except me, and that wasn’t sitting well with me. Then the most amazing thing happened. I fell in love with reading.

Random tangent. When I was younger I despised all things books. I was fairly certain that if you looked up the meaning of “evil” in the dictionary that the word “reading” or “books” would be the first example. I believe the book that brought me to love books was Ella Enchanted. That’s not to say I started devouring books right away, but I saw a world of possibilities. I remember the first time I read for fun all day long. I think I sent my parents into shock. That’s how much I used to hate reading. Now I can’t stop reading! And with that came my love for writing. When I was in fourth grade or so I remember being obsessed with talking hamsters in the world of Hamtaro (don’t judge me). I liked to watch the show, play with the rubber figurines, and pretend I was a hamster that went on all these adventures. I was lucky to find friends who shared my fascination with these talking pets in a cage. We even picked our favorite character and called each other by their names (again, don’t judge me). This sparked my interest in writing, though at the time I didn’t know it. I just wanted to tell a story with adventure, fantasy, and fun. That’s all. I wrote about talking hamsters. More of, I stole the plot of one of the Hamtaro video games and made it into story form. Thus began my writing fetish. I would steal plots from other books and write them with my own characters. My own words. I read a quote about writing being connected to stealing ideas from others. Of course their words were eloquently written, unlike that summary of the quote.

Can you see where this is going? If you can’t, I’ll tell you. My dream job is to be a writer. A writer of fiction. It’s why I’m going to be an English major in college. And I know, there are many out there with that dream and few make it. But that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t try. And if all else fails I have a backup plan. But to write and get paid for doing so, dream come true. I love creating worlds in my head, meeting characters, and all that jazz. I also love reading. So if professional reader of books is an occupation, that also makes the list.

Leave a Reply

