Decisions, and why I hate them

In life we make decisions everyday. What to eat, when to get up, what to wear, what to say, who to talk to, who to ignore, what song we want to listen to, whether we want fries with that. You would think that we would be decision making pros by the age of eighteen or something. But it doesn’t really matter how old you are, decisions are hard to make. And I’ve had to make so many this summer it’s enough to make your head explode. Welcome to the life of adulthood I suppose.

One of the first decisions I’ve had to make regarding my future was a bank account. Now I’ll admit, I’m not the most informed when it comes to banking. I took AP Economics, but my teacher was kind of crazy (though she was really sweet). So when they asked me whether I wanted the silver, blue, purple, or chartreuse account I had no idea what they were saying. I was even more lost when they tried to explain it all. I looked like an idiot for sure. All I wanted was a simple place to keep my money that gave me a debit card and checks just in case I’d need them. I didn’t want frilly bank accounts that came with airplanes and fancy names. Just when I thought I’d finally picked out an account I wanted there were a bunch of other choices to make within the account. Do I want to have a credit card? How about if I go over the amount in my account, do I want them to cover it and I pay them back in 24 hours? Did I want kittens on my checks? (No, no, and heck no). Maybe I’m exaggerating. I probably am. But I’m allowed to do that. After what seemed like ages my bank account was finally set in place. I’m excited because it’s all my own. My name, my money. Yea, there’s something liberating about that.

But the decisions don’t end there. Oh no, we’re just getting started. The bank adventure was with my dad. This past Tuesday mission decorate my dorm room was commenced with my mom. Something you should know about me is that I’m indecisive. I just can’t make up my mind sometimes. It takes me time and a lot of thinking. And shopping that day I really had no time. The deal is this, there are literally no Targets in Utah. NONE. I don’t know how I’m going to live, I’m seriously addicted to their strawberry gummies. Plus our Target is worlds nicer than our Walmart. I’ve grown up on Target. Guess what they have in Utah. Just guess. That’s right, Walmart. (Another thing you should know is I’ve inherited a distaste for Walmart from my mom). I’m sorry, but this girl is not dorm room shopping at Walmart. It sounds stubborn and impractical, but I don’t care. Maybe the Walmarts out there are nicer but not down here. Instead we went to Bed, Bath, & Beyond (which I assumed to mean they had stuff for outer space exploration, but no such luck). They have this cool pack and ship deal. It’s like a wedding registery with the scanner, but for college. I have no need to get married now! (Just kidding, I’ll want to play with the scanner again.) The lady who helped us was really nice and knew everything. Well, not everything. But she seriously knew her stuff about college dorms. Things that I forgot to take into account she reminded me of. That didn’t mean she took away the decision. Oh contraire. She brought up so many decisions it made my head spin. I mean, I’ll have to live with these decisions. If I don’t like my comforter, TOUGH. It’s mine and I’ll have to stare at it for the rest of my college dorm existence. This can put a lot of pressure on a girl. Not to mention the sheer magnitude of college and moving away from where I grew up and where my family is slowly starting to sink in. This summer is going to be full of conflicting emotions for sure.

After we created my dorm room I had a girl’s camp meeting to attend. I’ll explain the whole girl’s camp things because I don’t think I’ve talked about it. I’m a Head LIT. That’s pretty much the highest position for the youth. I oversee all of the Youth Camp Leaders (YCLs) and Leaders In Training (LITs). I have to decide what certifications they teach, what year they’re over, I have to make sure they’re doing their jobs, stuff like that. I also have to go to meetings with the adult camp leaders and plan the logistics and ideas of camp. Camp is like our baby. In the end it’s worth it, but it’s a pain in the butt. I don’t know what I’d do without the other Head LIT, Abby. Probably go insane. Maybe jump off a cliff. The bottom line is it’s enough to make you lose your sanity from all of the planning and decisions. What really made me go crazy was doing it after dorm shopping. I still had colors and patterns in my head from shopping around. Thank goodness for that addicting queso dip and the yummy birthday cake. The hour was supposed to go from six to nine. It ended up lasting until midnight. But we got a lot done, and I can feel a good thing coming from camp.

Those are just a few of the many wonderful decisions I’ve had to make over the last few weeks. Why do I hate decisions? They give me the biggest head ache. I can only handle choosing the fate of my future for so long. I know I’ll have to make a lot more decisions soon, but for now I’m ready to enjoy a nice relaxing weekend full of the beach, some of my best friends, and cute British boys.

Leave a Reply

