The Problem with Staying Up Late

Well, there’s many problems. But the biggest problem I’m having is controlling my hunger. That’s right. It’s 12:30 and I’m hungry. First, let me start off by saying why I’m up this late.

I’m usually a night owl. I can stay up until absurdly late hours of the night (or morning) during the summer. It’s a gift really. But tonight I’m tired and I have to get up early tomorrow to work. So why on earth would I choose tonight to stay up late? Because at two in the morning I can register for classes. I know, it doesn’t seem like a big deal at all, but it is. If I don’t register for classes then I won’t get into any of the ones I want and that’s just tragic. I definitely don’t want to be stuck in those unwanted classes that don’t get me any credits I really need. And I don’t know how many people are staying up until midnight MST so I have to stay up. What if the entire population is staying up? If I didn’t stay up with them I’d end up with those unloved, unwanted classes. Did I mention I don’t want that? So that’s why I’m up right now. Crazy, I know. But when you think about it, it makes absolute sense.

How does hunger play into this? Good question. I don’t usually eat after nine. I have no reason to and I’m not usually hungry so having this hunger at 12:35 is a strange feeling for me. Why is it that we get hungry at absurd hours of the night? I mean my tummy doesn’t growl when I’m sleeping, waking me up and demanding food. So why is it doing it now? I’m sure there’s some scientific explanation for it about the ventromedial and lateral hypothalamus and hormones and hunger and such. But that doesn’t really interest me. I want to know how I can be so tired and yet so hungry at the same time! Now, I’m going to go into sciency stuff. Don’t worry though, it’s not too advanced and it’s all from AP Psychology. You’ll understand.

This Maslow guy invented this hierarchy of needs, right? At the bottom you find the essentials like food, water, and probably sleep. My question is how do you decide what to satisfy first? If sleep and food are on the same level what do I do?! I mean, I can’t eat and sleep at the same time. Maybe some are gifted with that talent, but not I.

Really, I don’t know where I was going with that. I think it’s the late night talking. In less than two hours though I’ll be a class registered college student. That’s exciting, right? Yes, yes it is. Wish me luck. Hopefully people aren’t as crazy as I am and they’ll wait until natural hours to sign up for classes. For their sanity’s sake, I hope so.

Leave a Reply

